Accepting Nominations for the 2019 Yamhill County Cultural Asset Award

The Yamhill County Cultural Coalition (YCCC) in collaboration with the Cultural Asset Award Committee is seeking nominations for the 2019 Marilyn Worrix Cultural Asset Award. Named for its first recipient, the Award will be given every two years to honor the following attributes of an individual or organization:

  • ·         Significant contributions to local/regional/county level arts, heritage or humanities organizations

  • ·         Recognizable civic impact on local community

  • ·         Demonstrated leadership in community and cultural affairs

  • ·         Voluntary pursuits or contributions

  • ·         Cultural involvement with educational institutions

The current Committee chair, Deb Broocks,  acknowledges,   “While a high bar was set by establishing the Award in recognition of Marilyn Worrix’s years of civic contributions to McMinnville, Yamhill County and even the state of Oregon as well as her exquisite handmade books art form,  every community has likely candidates.  Over time, the Award should travel from one end of the County to the other.”

The Cultural Asset Award itself is a work of art specifically commissioned for the awardee and a plaque created by Sheridan artist Monica Setziol-Phillips engraved with the recipient’s name.  The plaque will be displayed for two years in the recipient’s community.  Funding for the Award and support for the honoring event was established in 2017 through donations to a permanent fund managed by YCCC. 

Nomination forms are available at the Public Libraries in Amity, Dayton, McMinnville, Newberg, Willamina and Sheridan; the City Halls of those communities and of Carlton, Lafayette and Yamhill; as well as all community fire halls.  The Committee is also making outreach presentations to city councils and other civic or cultural organizations in each community.  Deadline for submitting the one-page nomination and support letter is April 15, 2019. Click here for a. pdf  file nomination form.

The Committee will review the nominations and make its recommendation for the Award to YCCC by June 15.  The recipient will not be announced until planning has been completed for an appropriate award ceremony with the awardee’s hosting community.

Two Cultural Asset Award Committee members are available to answer questions or provide Nomination Forms:

Connie Keyes:                    503-550-1480

Marilyn Worrix:            503-472-4565,